Writers’ League of Texas

This April I’ll be flying to Austin to participate in the very cool (and I hope heavily-air-conditioned) Writers’ League of Texas YA A to Z Conference.  Today on the WLT blog I do a quick Q & A about publishing and agenting (and why trees are my mortal enemy).

What is something that you often see beginning writers doing wrong?

All writers want their characters to be relatable, but too often I see generic everyman protagonists. Their reactions are typical, their personalities flat. They react, rather than propel the action. If I’m going to spend three-hundred pages with a character, I want her to be unique, memorable.

Read the whole gosh durn thing here.

Leave a Reply

