Waking Up Screaming, But You Know in a Good Way

“Gaa! What?? WHERE AM I?”

This has been my wake-ritual the last three weeks, as I’ve spent more time in hotel rooms in strange cities than an international fugitive. At the end of March I was in Italy for the Bologna Book Fair, followed by Paris for the SCBWI France Pitch Session on April 1st (someone stuck a fish to my back; apparently this is a French thing), and finally this weekend I was in beautiful Austin for the WTA YA A to Z conference. So, apologies for the radio silence. I’ve been…preoccupied.

Vis. Texas: I had the great pleasure of stumbling around Austin w/ the inestimable Andrea Brown agent Mary Kole, aka KidLit.com / @kid_lit, with whom I discovered one of the fourteen battered but beautiful pianos scattered throughout the city. She’s got a lovely post today about the actual *work* we did. Hi Mary!

There is more tell, particularly of alpine strangers and my computer and passport getting stolen on a train to Zurich, but I’ll leave that to my traveling companion @helenavonsalome, who I understand is writing an essay about it all. For now I’m back at the office and yes reading queries (I know, I’m behind, I’m terrible, apologies all around). There’s also a new *big* book project, which, because I’m a masochist, I am writing longhand. 1920’s Manhattan, Russian spies, doomed sisters, that kind of thing.

Anyway, it’s good to be back. I’ve missed you all.

Leave a Reply

