Videogames are for Sissies (And So Am I)

Y’all may know I am a devotee of that wonderful, enlightening, ever-developing art form: videogames. Well, Sarah Elmaleh (voice over artist, gamer, life partner) turned me on to the truly epic Sissy’s Magical Ponycorn Adventure (Play it. Play it now. Behold the splendor.) Sarah’s got a fab article on Gamer Melodico on just why Sissy and her Sissy Ways are important.

A sample:

When I was 5 I drew picture books, as kids do. Mine featured a lot of princesses, many of them pregnant for some reason, (a fascination that has not stayed with me, though my biological clock is supposed to be vomiting cuckoos right about now.) I also poured mostly tortured hours into my cousins’ NES, murdering wildfowl and enduring cruel sniggers from a snarky-ass hound. It would be several years before I discovered the contemplative and sublimely goofy joys of graphic adventure games.

Read the whole thing here.

Follow Sarah on twitter.

One comment

Leave a Reply

