Author: johnmcusick

Agent with Folio Jr., representing picture books, middle grade, young adult, and everything in between. Author of GIRL PARTS and CHERRY MONEY BABY. Mostly harmless.

Happy Pub Day Michelle Modesto, REVENGE AND THE WILD!

Happy Book Birthday to Michelle Modesto’s totally, mind-blowingly awesome and unique, REVENGE AND THE WILD!

“This strong debut will delight fans of the genre” (Kirkus Reviews)

“Modesto’s genre-bending novel offers full-bodied romance and electrifying twists.” (Publishers Weekly)

“A page-turning, steampunk-esque Wild West adventure crawling with supernatural creatures.” (School Library Journal)

“A good match for reader who like their fights bloody and heroes unapologetically brash (Booklist)

RevengeAndtheWild_Cover

True Grit meets True Blood in this delightfully dark and fantastical Western perfect for fans of Gail Carriger, Cassandra Clare, and Holly Black. This thrilling novel is a remarkable tale of danger and discovery, from debut author Michelle Modesto.

The two-bit town of Rogue City is a lawless place, full of dark magic and saloon brawls, monsters and six-shooters. But it’s just perfect for seventeen-year-old Westie, the notorious adopted daughter of local inventor Nigel Butler.

Westie was only a child when she lost her arm and her family to cannibals on the wagon trail. Seven years later, Westie may seem fearsome with her foul-mouthed tough exterior and the powerful mechanical arm built for her by Nigel, but the memory of her past still haunts her. She’s determined to make the killers pay for their crimes—and there’s nothing to stop her except her own reckless ways.

But Westie’s search ceases when a wealthy family comes to town looking to invest in Nigel’s latest invention, a machine that can harvest magic from gold—which Rogue City desperately needs as the magic wards that surround the city start to fail. There’s only one problem: the investors look exactly like the family who murdered Westie’s kin. With the help of Nigel’s handsome but scarred young assistant, Alistair, Westie sets out to prove their guilt. But if she’s not careful, her desire for revenge could cost her the family she has now.

You can order REVENGE AND THE WILD (Balzer & Bray) at B&N, Amazon, and Indiebound, and review on Goodreads. You can also find Michelle on her website and on twitter.

February Reads!

Congrats to Sharon Biggs Waller, Tommy Wallach, and Michelle Modesto– all three are on this awesome list of Barnes & Noble’s 30 Most-Anticipated February Reads. 

Febmostanticipated.jpg

 

About the books and their authors:
You can pre-order Sharon Biggs Waller’s THE FORBIDDEN ORCHID (Viking) on Amazon, and Barnes & Noble, or check it out on Goodreads. You can also find Sharon at her website, on Facebook, and on twitter.

Check out Tommy Wallach’s THANKS FOR THE TROUBLE (Simon & Schuster) on Goodreads, and pre-order on Amazon, Barnes and Noble, and Indiebound. You can also check out WE ALL LOOKED UP on Goodreads. Order now at Barnes & NobleAmazon, or Indiebound.

And finally, you can pre-order Michelle Modesto’s amazing debut REVENGE AND THE WILD (Balzer & Bray) at B&N, Amazon, and Indiebound, and review on Goodreads. You can also find Michelle on her website and on twitter.

 

 

 

Congratulations Valynne Maetani, ALA Honor Winner!

10257706_10207311268233659_139249570128047634_n-1.jpg

Huge congratulations to the absurdly talented Valynne Maetani whose debut YA INK AND ASHES has won the ALA Asian/Pacific American Honor Award for Youth Literature!

23009011ValynneMaetani

Check out Ink and Ashes on Goodreads, Barnes & Noble, Indiebound, and Amazon.

Check out Valynne Maetani on her website and twitter.

 

Welcome New Client Josephine Cameron!

JosephineCameronI’m so excited to welcome Josephine Cameron to the Folio Jr. team! Josephine is a musician, teacher, and fabulous author. Her contemporary middle-grade GILLS (think friendship, family, vaudeville, and mermaids) is something very special and I can’t wait to share it with the world. Welcome Josie!

 

Thanks for the Trouble’s 3rd Starred Review!

Congrats to Tommy Wallach!

From School & Library Journal: “VERDICT A unique and compelling tale. The narrator’s hilariously crass but poignant voice is sure to intrigue even the most reluctant of readers.”

Thanks for the Trouble Final Cover

Check out THANKS FOR THE TROUBLE on Goodreads, and pre-order on Amazon, Barnes and Noble, and Indiebound.

You can also check out WE ALL LOOKED UP on Goodreads. Order now at Barnes & NobleAmazon, or Indiebound.

Congrats to Sharon Biggs Waller on her Starred Publishers Weekly Review!

Following Kirkus’s sterling review, here’s Publishers Weekly on THE FORBIDDEN ORCHID:

ForbiddenOrchid_ForFinal_LR“Once Elodie arrives in China, Waller (A Mad, Wicked Folly) creates a vivid portrait of the country’s landscape and history—and the restrictions women faced there, too—through Elodie’s observations and via her new friend, Ching Lan. The discordant relationship between England’s fascination with China’s many unfamiliar treasures and the Victorian desire to conquer is also front and center. Elodie and Ching Lan are feminists of their era, refusing to bend to the rules and limits placed before them.”

 

Read the full review here.

You can pre-order THE FORBIDDEN ORCHID (which is coming from Viking this March) on Amazon, and Barnes & Noble, or check it out on Goodreads.

You can also find Sharon at her website, on Facebook, and on twitter.

Chicago Public Library’s Best of 2015 feat Hannah Moskowitz and Tommy Wallach

cpl-logo-desktop-2.pngSo excited to see Tommy Wallach and Hannah Moskowitz (twice!) on
Chicago Public Libarary’s Best Teen Fiction of 2015 list. They’re in some great company, along with Folio Jr. clients Margo Rabb and Julie Murphy…

 

See the full list here

Excellent review of THE FORBIDDEN ORCHID in Kirkus

Congrats to Sharon Biggs Waller on this fabulous Kirkus review.

ForbiddenOrchid_ForFinal_LR

“Elodie narrates in a formal, 19th-century voice that manages to be witty and smart without calling undue attention to itself. A pragmatic young woman, Elodie’s struggle with the uncomfortable weather and terrain is as convincingly rendered as the conflict between her growing love for Alex and loyalty to her family. Historical details, including the liberal prescription of morphine and Britain’s patriarchal economy, lend rich, textural background.

Well-researched and filled with adventure, romance, and lots of tension—this work of historical fiction has all the elements of an intriguing read. (Historical fiction. 12 & up)”

You can pre-order THE FORBIDDEN ORCHID (which is coming from Viking this March) on Amazon, and Barnes & Noble, or check it out on Goodreads.

You can also find Sharon at her website, on Facebook, and on twitter.

Congrats to Julie Bayless on her latest picture book deal!

From Publishers Weekly:

Julie Bayless_picMary Colgan at Boyds Mills Press has bought Crawly School for Bugs by David Harrison (l.), illustrated by Julie Bayless, a book of funny poetry written from the point of view of different insect students. Publication is set for spring 2018; John M. Cusick of Folio Jr. / Folio Literary Management brokered the deal for world rights.

Check out more of Julie’s artwork hereJulie‘s debut pb ROAR! just pub’d from Running Press Kids. Get yourself a copy!

(Like this post? Then check out my November 19th webinar HOW TO BE A WRITER WITHOUT LOSING YOUR MIND: Balancing Work, Life, and Craft. There will be a Q and A as well as query critiques for all attendees. You should check it out!)