Teen

Congrats to Don Zolidis on his debut deal!

From Publishers Weekly:

donzolidis_pic

Laura Schreiber at Disney-Hyperion has acquired playwright Don Zolidis‘s debut YA novel, The Seven Torments of Amy and Craig (A Love Story) , in a preempt. It’s a coming-of-age story set in 1994 Wisconsin, chronicling the on-again-off-again relationship of Amy and Craig, who come to understand each other better through multiple disastrous breakups. Publication date is projected for fall 2018; John M. Cusick of Folio Jr./Folio Literary Management brokered the six-figure, two-book deal for North American rights.

 

 

Not only is Don an incredible playwright (if you were a teen theater-geek in the past ten years, chances are you read one of his monologues), SEVEN TORMENTS is one of the straight up funniest things I’ve read in ages. Congrats Don!

Congrats to Sharon Biggs Waller on her new deal!

Congratulations to Sharon Biggs Waller on her new deal with Simon & Schuster Teen! This is such an important book and I can’t wait for you all to read it.

From Publishers Weekly:

sharonbiggswaller_picChristian Trimmer at Simon & Schuster has bought world English rights to Girls on the Verge, a YA novel by Sharon Biggs Waller. When 17-year-old Camille discovers she can’t obtain an abortion anywhere near her small hometown, she sets off for a Planned Parenthood clinic in the next state. Accompanied by Annabelle, the one-time star of her high school who has wound up stocking shelves, Camille embarks on a road trip of self-discovery in this coming-of-age story pitched as Going Bovine meets Thelma and Louise. Publication is set for spring 2018; John M. Cusick of Folio Jr. / Folio Literary Management brokered the deal.

You can order Sharon’s latest historical YA, THE FORBIDDEN ORCHID (Viking Children’s Books) on Amazon, and Barnes & Noble, or check it out on Goodreads.

You can also find Sharon at her website, on Facebook, and on twitter.

ENTER TITLE HERE by Rahul Kanakia, New York Times Review

EnterTitleHere_CoverCongrats to Rahul on this New York Times review of ENTER TITLE HERE (Disney-Hyperion, 2016). I DARE you not to have an opinion about this book… 

“It’s meant to make you uncomfortable, and Kanakia made me uncomfortable in so many ways.”

Order ENTER TITLE HERE on Amazon, B&N, and IndieBound.

You can also Rahul on twitter at @rahkan, and check out his amazing and prolific blog on culture, art, and life.

Congrats Christian!

Congrats to Christian McKay Heidicker on his latest deal with Simon & Schuster! From Publishers Weekly:

unnamed.jpgChristian Trimmer at Simon & Schuster has acquired Christian McKay Heidicker‘s YA novel Throw Your Arm Across Your Eyes and Scream. Pitched as Pleasantville meets Cloverfield, the novel follows 15-year-old Phoebe, daughter of the woman who was carried to the top of the Empire State Building by King Kong, in a world where the horrors of 1940s and 50s sci-fi movies are everyday occurrences. Publication is planned for summer 2018; John M. Cusick of Folio Jr. / Folio Literary Management brokered the deal for world rights.

You can find Christian online at http://www.cmheidicker.com/ and https://twitter.com/cmheidicker 

Get his debut CURE FOR THE COMMON UNIVERSE at Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Indiebound, and check it out on Goodreads.

“A plugged-in young adult comedy about the pain of unplugging… perfect for teen gamers and readers who are fans of Jesse Andrews and John Green.” (School Library Journal)

“Heidicker’s debut crackles with twitchy energy… this is a fun, absurdist romp through gaming culture, populated by zany characters and a quest narrative worthy of its own game.” (Booklist)

Congrats to Courtney and Valynne

I’m so excited to finally share this news, and the unique way this novel came to be. Check out Publishers Weekly’s piece on Courtney Alameda and Valynne Maetani tweeting their way to a six-figure deal.

41671-1.JPG

“What began as a casual Twitter conversation between two long-time friends who for years talked about writing a book together – Valynne Maetani and Courtney Alameda – has become a hot property that recently was sold to HarperCollins in a two-book, six-figure deal after an auction earlier this year in which four major publishers participated. The final contract was signed in June.”

Visit Courtney’s website, follow her on Twitter, and like her on Facebook.

Check out Courtney’s debut SHUTTER on Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Indiebound, and Goodreads.

Check out Valynne Maetani on her website and twitter.
Check out Valynne’s debut INK AND ASHES on Goodreads, Barnes & Noble, Indiebound, and Amazon.

 

 

Heidicker’s CURE a Most-Anticipated YA

So excited to see Christian Heidicker’s CURE FOR THE COMMON UNIVERSE on Barnes & Noble’s 26 Most Anticipated June Young Adult Books!

CURE Final CoverLiterally minutes after a real (!) live (!) girl (!!) agrees to let him take her on his very first date, screen-addicted Jaxon’s dad and stepmom drag him off to video game rehab. There, he must earn one million points over the course of four days in order to win his freedom in time to go on his date—which will require interfacing not with pixels but with actual humans.

“A plugged-in young adult comedy about the pain of unplugging… perfect for teen gamers and readers who are fans of Jesse Andrews and John Green.” (School Library Journal)

“Heidicker’s debut crackles with twitchy energy… this is a fun, absurdist romp through gaming culture, populated by zany characters and a quest narrative worthy of its own game.” (Booklist)

Pre-Order out CURE FOR THE COMMON UNIVERSE at Amazon, Indiebound, and Barnes & Noble, and check it out on Goodreads.

You can find Christian on twitter, too.

Thanks for the Trouble Book Launch

It’s coming! To the Strand! February 22nd!

Come join Tommy, pal and fellow-author Adam Silvera, and a whole host of brilliant human beings at the book launch for Tommy’s second novel, THANKS FOR THE TROUBLE…

Thanks for the Trouble Final Cover

 

“Tommy Wallach, Brooklyn-based musician and author of the best-selling We All Looked Up, comes to the Strand for a night of stories and songs to celebrate his brand-new novel! Thanks for the Trouble is a story of first and last loves that blurs the line between real and make-believe. Tommy will be in the Rare Book Room to discuss the characters, the story, and how it all came together with Adam Silvera, fellow chart-topping author of More Happy Than Not.”

Check out the event page on the Strand’s website to get your “ticket” (a copy of THANKS FOR THE TROUBLE). I’ll see you there!

Happy Pub Day Michelle Modesto, REVENGE AND THE WILD!

Happy Book Birthday to Michelle Modesto’s totally, mind-blowingly awesome and unique, REVENGE AND THE WILD!

“This strong debut will delight fans of the genre” (Kirkus Reviews)

“Modesto’s genre-bending novel offers full-bodied romance and electrifying twists.” (Publishers Weekly)

“A page-turning, steampunk-esque Wild West adventure crawling with supernatural creatures.” (School Library Journal)

“A good match for reader who like their fights bloody and heroes unapologetically brash (Booklist)

RevengeAndtheWild_Cover

True Grit meets True Blood in this delightfully dark and fantastical Western perfect for fans of Gail Carriger, Cassandra Clare, and Holly Black. This thrilling novel is a remarkable tale of danger and discovery, from debut author Michelle Modesto.

The two-bit town of Rogue City is a lawless place, full of dark magic and saloon brawls, monsters and six-shooters. But it’s just perfect for seventeen-year-old Westie, the notorious adopted daughter of local inventor Nigel Butler.

Westie was only a child when she lost her arm and her family to cannibals on the wagon trail. Seven years later, Westie may seem fearsome with her foul-mouthed tough exterior and the powerful mechanical arm built for her by Nigel, but the memory of her past still haunts her. She’s determined to make the killers pay for their crimes—and there’s nothing to stop her except her own reckless ways.

But Westie’s search ceases when a wealthy family comes to town looking to invest in Nigel’s latest invention, a machine that can harvest magic from gold—which Rogue City desperately needs as the magic wards that surround the city start to fail. There’s only one problem: the investors look exactly like the family who murdered Westie’s kin. With the help of Nigel’s handsome but scarred young assistant, Alistair, Westie sets out to prove their guilt. But if she’s not careful, her desire for revenge could cost her the family she has now.

You can order REVENGE AND THE WILD (Balzer & Bray) at B&N, Amazon, and Indiebound, and review on Goodreads. You can also find Michelle on her website and on twitter.

February Reads!

Congrats to Sharon Biggs Waller, Tommy Wallach, and Michelle Modesto– all three are on this awesome list of Barnes & Noble’s 30 Most-Anticipated February Reads. 

Febmostanticipated.jpg

 

About the books and their authors:
You can pre-order Sharon Biggs Waller’s THE FORBIDDEN ORCHID (Viking) on Amazon, and Barnes & Noble, or check it out on Goodreads. You can also find Sharon at her website, on Facebook, and on twitter.

Check out Tommy Wallach’s THANKS FOR THE TROUBLE (Simon & Schuster) on Goodreads, and pre-order on Amazon, Barnes and Noble, and Indiebound. You can also check out WE ALL LOOKED UP on Goodreads. Order now at Barnes & NobleAmazon, or Indiebound.

And finally, you can pre-order Michelle Modesto’s amazing debut REVENGE AND THE WILD (Balzer & Bray) at B&N, Amazon, and Indiebound, and review on Goodreads. You can also find Michelle on her website and on twitter.

 

 

 

Congratulations Valynne Maetani, ALA Honor Winner!

10257706_10207311268233659_139249570128047634_n-1.jpg

Huge congratulations to the absurdly talented Valynne Maetani whose debut YA INK AND ASHES has won the ALA Asian/Pacific American Honor Award for Youth Literature!

23009011ValynneMaetani

Check out Ink and Ashes on Goodreads, Barnes & Noble, Indiebound, and Amazon.

Check out Valynne Maetani on her website and twitter.